Introduction to the Parliament of USI

Home >> The government >> Parliament

Seal of the 1st Usian Parliament
Seal of the 1st Usian Parliament

The Usian Parliament, also the Parliament of Usi or formally the Parliament of the Usian Republic is the legislature of the Usian government. Currently, the 2nd Parliament of Usi is in session. From 21 July 2015 until 21 July 2016 the 3rd Parliament of Usi will be meeting.

The Usian Parliament consists of three houses.

Only the Head of the Legislative has the power to call a session of Parliament, though it is required that he do so at least once every four months.

The People's Representatives are elected every year; the number of the Parliament goes up by one with each reelection of the House. The ratio of the members of one house to the others must remain constant. Thus, the House of People's Representatives must have twice as many members as the Senate has Senators, and there in turn must be only half as many members of the State Council as Senators. The 2nd Parliament of Usi has eight People's Representatives, four Senators and two Members of the State Council.


The Parliament currently has a total of 14 seats.

House of People's Representatives

The lower house of the Usian Parliament is the House of People's Representatives, also called the "People's House" or simply the "House". The Representatives are citizens directly elected by the populace from the populace. There are currently 8 seats in the House of People's Representatives.

List of People's Representatives:

Jon H. Erker*

Kevin Wanter*

Hanz Leberkäse*

Werner Büron*

Millard Peterson*

Mildred Peterson*

Graham Middleborough*

Alexander Fentimore*



The middle house of the Parliament of Usi is the Senate. The Senators are nominated by the State Council and confirmed by the People's Representatives. There are 4 seats in the Senate in the 2nd Parliament.

List of Senators:

John Clark*

Regina Berger*


State Council

The upper house, the State Council, consists of the Governors of the Usian Provinces. The Head of Executive has the privilege of selecting which of the Province Governors will be on the Council.

List of Members of the State Council:

Head of Legislative Oskar ...*

Richard Krot*


Powers of the Parliament

Powers of the entire Parliament

The Parliament alone has the power to make any legislation, and has the power to delegate legislation (regulations). It also has sole power to declare war (though, of course, defensive actions do not need to be authorized by the Parliament).

The law-making process

To make a law (that is, not an amendment to the constitution, and not a special law in any other way, including delegating more legislation), the Parliament must go through the following steps:


1. Someone -- anyone really, though usually a citizen -- suggests a law (called a bill) by submitting it to the Office of the Head of Legislative (OHoL), which is in charge of assessing its constitutionality and for introducing it to the Parliament upon approval. Upon request of the person suggesting the bill, the OHoL may put the suggestion for a law into proper wording.

2. The law is read in joint Parliament; it is then sent to the appropriate committee for amending.

3. The chair of the committee presents its amendments and expresses, on behalf of the committee, a favorable recommendation or a rejection (with an explanation).


(a) If the committee favorably recommends the bill, the Parliament can either debate the issue, or move directly to vote (it must be debated if at least two Parliamentarians wish to do so)

(b) If the committee rejects the bill, the Parliament can still pass it. However, a debate is mandatory. The Parliament may invite the person who suggested the bill to defend it. 

5. With most laws (exceptions may be found in the Constituiton), every member of the Parliament votes without regard to their chamber of Parliament (in joint sessions).

6. The Head of Legislative either signs or rejects the new law, though the Parliament can override this veto with a 2/3 majority in each house.

Powers of the separate Houses of the Parliament

The House of People's Representatives

The People's House holds many confirming duties alone.

The Senate

The Senate alone votes on a new budget annually. Until the Republic's economy grows, the budget will remain about 60 UTBs a year (= 115€/$130).

Diagram (public domain) from the 2015 budget report.
Diagram (public domain) from the 2015 budget report.
Usian budget of fiscal year 2015
(passed by the Senate on 24 June 2015)
Usian budget 2015.pdf
Adobe Acrobat Document 609.3 KB

The State Council

The State Council gains powers during a state of emergency, and has a lot of say in if one is declared or not. Also, if the Head of Executive should fail to achieve an absolute majority, each of his actions must be approved by the Council.


Search the Usian government's website: